In some areas, wages are going up, but remain closer to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. Congress hasn’t voted to raise the minimum wage in more than a decade. In Missouri, for example, the minimum wage will rise from $7.70 an hour to $7.85 an hour in 2018, a slight uptick said to account for inflation.
Keeping this in consideration, what is Canada’s minimum wage 2017?
Minimum wage ratesMinimum wage rateRates from October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2017Rates from October 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017General minimum wage$11.40 per hour$11.60 per hourStudent minimum wage$10.70 per hour$10.90 per hourLiquor servers minimum wage$9.90 per hour$10.10 per hour
What will student minimum wage be in 2018?
Students under 18. Students under the age of 18, who work part time during the school year (up to 28 hrs/week ) and on school breaks, will see an increase from $10.90 per hour to: $13.15 per hour on January 1, 2018. $14.10 per hour on January 1, 2019.
What is the minimum wage in Ontario Canada?
What the Ontario minimum wage increase means for youMinimum wage categoryCurrentJanuary 1, 2018General$11.40$14.00Student under 18$10.70$13.15Liquor servers$9.90$12.
How much is the minimum wage in 2018?
California’s $15 Per Hour Minimum Wage ScheduleRate (Jan. 1)26 Employees or More25 Employees or Less2017$10.50$10.002018$11.00$10.502019$12.00$11.002020$13.00$12.0
What is the minimum wage in New York 2018?
New York State Minimum Wage IncreaseNew York City10 or fewer employees11 or more employeesDecember 31, 2016$10.50$11.00December 31, 2017$12.00$13.00December 31, 2018$13.50$15.00December 31, 2019$15.0
What is the state with the highest minimum wage?
Top 10 U.S. states with the highest minimum wage
Washington D.C – $12.50/hr.
Washington – $11.50/hr.
California (Tie) – $11.00/hr.
Massachusetts (Ties) – $11.00/hr.
Arizona (Tie) – $10.50/hr.
Vermont (Tie) – $10.50/hr.
New York – $10.40/hr.
Colorado – $10.20/hr.
What is minimum wage in Los Angeles 2018?
Los Angeles Minimum Wage ScheduleJuly 126+ workers25 or fewer2017$12.00$10.502018$13.25$12.002019$14.25$13.252020$15.00$14.25
What state has the highest minimum wage and what is it?
Noah Berger/Reuters/File. Fourteen states have a minimum wage equivalent to the federal minimum: Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The federal hourly minimum wage was last raised in 2009, to $7.25 per hour.
How much is minimum wage in Los Angeles County?
Beginning July 1, 2016, a minimum wage worker in the unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County will make $10.00 or $10.50 per hour, depending on the size of the business. The minimum wage will increase every year on July 1 until it reaches $15.00 per hour in 2021 for all businesses.
What happens if the state’s minimum wage is lower than the federal minimum wage?
States can pass their own minimum wage laws. These laws can be lower than, equal to or higher than the federal minimum wage, or states can have no minimum wage laws at all. If a state has no minimum wage law or its minimum wage is lower than the federal law, workers are entitled to the federal wage.
What is minimum wage in Texas 2018?
While the federal minimum wage remains at $7.25 per hour, some states have opted to increase it to more than $10. Minimum wage workers in 18 states will get a pay hike next week when higher wage floors go into effect around the country for 2018.
How much is minimum wage in Chicago 2017?
Minimum Wage OrdinanceEffective DateNon-Tipped EmployeesTipped EmployeesJuly 1, 2015$10.00$5.45July 1, 2016$10.50$5.95July 1, 2017$11.00Increases with CPI*July 1, 2018$12.00Increases with CPI*
What is the minimum wage in the state of Mississippi?
The Mississippi Minimum Wage is the lowest hourly wage that an employee working in Mississippi can legally be paid. Both Mississippi and the federal government have set a legal minimum wage – Mississippi’s is $7.25 per hour, while the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
What is the minimum wage in Los Angeles County?
On July 1, 2018 small businesses will have to pay a new minimum wage of $12.00 The current minimum wage is $10.50. Big businesses will have their minimum wage increase from $12.00 to $13.25 an hour. Employers in Los Angeles County will also see changes in minimum wage.
What is minimum wage in San Jose CA 2017?
In a unanimous vote, the Council approved raising the minimum wage in $1.50 increments starting with $12 on July 1, 2017, $13.50 on Jan. 1, 2018 and $15 on Jan. 1, 2019. The city’s current minimum wage of $10.30 was scheduled to increase by 10 cents in 2017.
What is minimum wage in Maryland 2018?
As of July 1, 2017, the minimum wage in Maryland for most workers is $9.25 an hour, while the federally-mandated minimum wage remains at $7.25 an hour. For tipped employees, the Maryland minimum cash-wage is $3.63 an hour. On July 1, 2018, Maryland’s minimum wage will increase to $10.10 an hour.
How much is minimum wage in the state of Tennessee?
As a result, federal minimum wage applies to employees in Tennessee. On July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage (and therefore Tennessee’s minimum wage) was set at $7.25 per hour for non-tipped employees (and some student jobs).
What is minimum wage in Georgia 2017?
The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, and has not increased since July 2009. However, some states, cities and counties have a higher minimum wage rate. When the state, city or county minimum wage rate is higher than the federal rate, employers are required to pay workers the higher amount.
How much is the minimum wage?
Voters passed Proposition 206 in 2016 to schedule a series of wage increases starting with $10.00/hour in 2017, $10.50 in 2018, $11.00 in 2019, $12.00 in 2020 and every year afterwards will be tied to inflation. Minimum wage increased to $8.50 on January 1, 2017. The rate applies to employers of four or more employees.
What is minimum wage in the state of Louisiana?
Currently, 29 states and D.C. have minimum wages above the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Five states have not adopted a state minimum wage: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee.
How much is minimum wage in the state of Georgia?
Georgia’s state law sets the minimum wage at $5.15 per hour, but the federal Fair Labor Standards Act still applies, meaning most employees are covered under the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
What is the new minimum wage in Michigan?
New Minimum Wage for Michigan EmployeesEffective DateMinimum Hourly Wage Rate85% of Minimum Hourly Wage RateSeptember 1, 2014$8.15$7.25*January 1, 2016$8.50$7.25*January 1, 2017$8.90$7.57January 1, 2018$9.25$7.86
What is the minimum wage in the state of Tennessee?
Tennessee’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Tennessee, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.